Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Abraham Grove Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap16
Scope and Contents
Account book of Abraham Grove of Shenandoah, Virginia. He appears to be a woodworker with entries for making a wheelbarrow, a wagon, a rake and work done on houses. Also has entries for his own purchases. Index by first names included.On page 165, he has entered births, deaths and marriages, summarized: Abraham Grove and Elisabeth Coffman married December 5, 1815, son John born November 16, 1816, Polly born February 7, 1818, Isaac born Jan. 13, 1820, Eliza Ann born November 8,...
Dates:
1815-1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Moore and Kerlin Store Records, 1814-1920
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.408
Scope and Contents
Records circa 1820-1920 of a store in Shenandoah County, Virginia near Forestville run by the Moore and Kerlin families. This store consisted of a general merchandise store, a blacksmith shop, post office that ran 1841-1859, and a mill. Earlier ledgers suggest that the store was started by Adam Miller and later sold to the Moore family. The Moore and Kerlin families are connected through marriage. Records include store accounts of purchases and credits, receipts, broadsides, and...
Dates:
1814-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Joseph H. Tisinger Ledger
Collection
Identifier: MS 00134
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1891-1909, of Joseph H. Tisinger of Shenandoah County, Virginia. He seems to have owned some sort of store, as there are entries for various meats as well as wood. However, it also seems as though Tisinger was involved in some baking activities, as there are lines that detail payment of taxes.
Dates:
1891-1909
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Wissler-Mayer Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.223
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1830s-1950s, of the Wissler, Mayer, and Erb families of Grottoes and Columbia Furnace, Virginia, and Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Included are photographs, an autograph album, a manuscript cookbook, receipts, two ledgers, a Bible and hymn book, a Wissler family record for the descendants of William Franklin Wissler and Elizabeth Mayer (m. 1890), and correspondence.
For a more detailed description see finding aid link below.
Dates:
1835-1952
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center